Forward Together

A LIFE LONG RUNNER

When he lost his eyesight in his mid-twenties, Tom Panek was afraid to run alone. Running with a guide dog was presumed not to be safe, so Tom ran with human guides – yet he felt a loss of independence.

Richard Hunter began losing his eyesight at age 22. Richard competed in the Boston Marathon and Iron Man triathlons with the assistance of human guides. He never considered using a guide dog because running with guide dogs was prohibited.

Pam McGonigle won her first running race in 6th grade and was hooked. Born with visual impairment, she won gold in the 3,000 meters in the 1992 Barcelona Paralympic Games. Yet, Pam struggled to find human guides to train with, and in 2005, she called it quits.

CONNECTIONS MADE

and possibilities explored.
At the 2014 Boston Marathon, Tom, the new CEO of Guiding Eyes for the Blind, and Richard discussed the possibility of a running program for guide dogs. It was something that had never been done.

IDEAS PERCOLATING

Meanwhile, in Bend, Oregon, Ruffwear’s product design team had been creating gear for working dogs for years. The team had been talking with guide dog schools about developing a guide dog harness, but the ideas had yet to take shape.

BACK IN NEW YORK

Guiding Eyes for the Blind began getting its running guide program off the ground. The team was training a German Shepherd named Klinger with Ruffwear's Front Range® Harness, which they had modified by adding a handle.

In 2015, Guiding Eyes asked Ruffwear about developing a harness for its Running Guides program. Ruffwear’s design team thought, “If we are going to create a guide dog harness, let’s develop one that works for all guide dog users and any activity.”

The team went to work developing a harness and handle that would meet the everyday needs of guide dogs and guide dog users. The UniFly™ Harness is lightweight, breathable, and like all Ruffwear gear, designed with a dog’s comfort in mind.

THE FIRST GRADUATE

In 2015, Klinger was the first dog to graduate from the Guiding Eyes for the Blind running dog program – and join Richard. Since then, more than a dozen dogs have graduated and there is a waiting list.

REUNITED WITH RUNNING

12 years after quitting running, Pam joined the Running Guides program. The first time she and guide dog Maida ran together, she knew she'd met someone who loves running as much she does.

Tom’s guide dog Gus gave him the independence that he lost 25 years ago. In 2017, they ran a 5-mile race together – something that had not been done before. Tom is planning to run a marathon with a relay of dogs, continuing to reimagine what’s possible.

Un coureur tout au long de sa vie

Quand il a perdu la vue au milieu de la vingtaine, Tom Panek avait peur de courir seul. Courir avec un chien-guide a été présumé ne pas être sûr, si Tom a couru avec des guides humains - mais il a senti une perte d'indépendance.
Richard Hunter a commencé à perdre la vue à l'âge de 22 ans. Richard a participé aux triathlons Marathon de Boston et Iron Man avec l'aide des guides humains. Il n'a jamais envisagé d'utiliser un chien de guide, car courir avec les chiens guides a été interdite.
Pam McGonigle elle a remporté la première course course en 6e année et a été accroché. Née avec une déficience visuelle, elle a remporté la médaille d’or au 3 000 mètres des Jeux Paralympiques de Barcelone en 1992. Cependant, Pam a eu du mal à trouver des guides humains avec lesquels s'entraîner et en 2005, elle a voulu s'arrêter.

MADE CONNECTIONS

et les possibilités explorées.
Au Marathon de Boston en 2014, Tom, le nouveau PDG de Guiding Eyes for the Blind et Richard ont discuté de la possibilité d’un programme de course à pied pour chiens-guides. Il avait quelque chose qui n'a jamais été fait.

IDÉES pERCOLATION

Pendant ce temps, à Bend, en Oregon, l'équipe de conception de produits de Ruffwear avait depuis des années créé des équipements pour les chiens de travail. L’équipe s’était entretenue avec des écoles de chiens-guides de la mise au point d’un harnais pour chiens-guides, mais les idées n’avaient pas encore été concrétisées.

RETOUR À NEW YORK

Guiding Eyes for the Blind a commencé à lancer son programme de course à pied pour guides. L'équipe a été la formation d'un berger allemand nommé Klinger avec harnais avant Range® de Ruffwear, qu'ils avaient modifié en ajoutant une poignée.
En 2015, Guiding Eyes a demandé à Ruffwear de développer un harnais pour son programme Running Guides. L’équipe de designers de Ruffwear a déclaré: «Si nous voulons créer un harnais pour chien-guide, développons-en un qui conviendra à tous les utilisateurs de chien-guide dans toutes les activités."
L'équipe est allée au travail et le développement d'un harnais poignée qui répondrait aux besoins de tous les jours des chiens guides et utilisateurs de chiens guides. Le Unifly ™ harnais est léger, perméable à l'air, et comme tous les engins Ruffwear, conçu avec le confort à l'esprit d'un chien.

LE PREMIER DIPLÔMÉS

En 2015, Klinger a été le premier chien à sortir du Programme pour chien Guiding Eyes for the Blind - et il a joint Richard. Depuis, plus d'une douzaine de chiens ont obtenu leur diplôme et il y a une liste d'attente.

REUNI AVEC LA COURSE

12 ans après avoir quitté la course, Pam a rejoint le programme en cours Guides. La première fois, elle et chien guide Maida a couru ensemble, elle savait qu'elle avait une personne rencontrée qui aime courir autant qu'elle fait.
Le chien guide de Tom, Gus, lui a donné l'indépendance qu'il avait perdue 25 ans plus tôt. En 2017, ils ont couru ensemble une course de 5 miles - quelque chose qui n’avait pas été fait auparavant. Tom envisage de courir un marathon avec un relais de chiens, en continuant à réimaginer ce qui est possible.